Spontaneous Psychic Ability

General discussion about the Elder Race, Life, the Universe and Everything.
LoneBear
Legatus Legionis
Legatus Legionis

Spontaneous Psychic Ability

Post by LoneBear » Sun Nov 27, 2011 3:47 pm

I am reading a book on Etherology by J. Stanley Grimes (written in 1850), and he brings up a rather interesting point regarding clairvoyance...
Grimes wrote:The case of Jane C. Rider, of Springfield, in Massachusetts, occurred while I was a temporary resident in that place. She spontaneously manifested all the powers of clairvoyance, in a community where no such thing had ever been witnessed before, and where mesmerism was unknown. There are many other similar cases, which established the fact that no human operator is necessary, but that the subject contains withing himself ALL the essential elements required to produce the result. Those, therefore, who attribute so much potency to the will of the operator, or to sympathy with him, are obviously mistaken, since the same effects may be produced without any human operator.
The term "mesmerism," in those days, referred to general psychic ability, not just hypnosis as it does today.

I find this particularly interesting because of all the current practices that use "will" in an attempt to bottle-up Qi/chi/prana to use to manifest psychic ability. This comment made me reevaluate some of the preconceived notions I had about psychic ability--it appears that it is an inherent part of the "mechanism" of the mind/body/spirit complex, that everyone shares equally, just like a heart or lungs. It is not a process of building up qi to obtain the ability, but to remove the blocks that are inhibiting its use.