The Sanctuary Project

Discussion of the basic concepts and philosophy behind the idea of a Sanctuary; a place where those exhibiting traits of the next generation of man can meet and learn, without prejudice or bias.
LoneBear
Legatus Legionis
Legatus Legionis

The Sanctuary Project

Post by LoneBear » Sun Jan 22, 2006 4:20 pm

The Sanctuary Project is an intentional community whose purpose is to both promote and live the ideals of ethical and honorable man in a natural setting. The resources of the community are directed towards personal and social understanding. This topic is to discuss the relevant ideas on how a person expresses themselves, and what opportunities need to be available to allow that expression to come to its fullest, without the pressures of materialistic civilization impinging upon them.

"Sanctuary" was the original concept I had been working with for many years, since the mid-1970s. It was later renamed to Breidablik, the home of the Germanic god Baldr, which is the earliest reference to such a community that I could locate. From this concept, we attempted to spawn the "Avalon SGC" concept (a "Sacred Growth Center", and a play on Stargate SG-1's "StarGate Command"), which is now a bust, due to the very same materialistic ideals that the idea of Sanctuary was suppose to surpass.

The original SGC category and forums have been converted to the Sanctuary project, so there are still some references to the SGC idea in the remaining topics. The existing user subscriptions have also been converted to the Sanctuary Project; if this is not a project you are interested in (as it is similar to the SGC idea), please click on "Usergroups" in the menu at the top of the page, and select "Unsubscribe". Forums will be added as necessary, to divide discussions into logical areas of interest.

The main site has been updated to include the Sanctuary project, from my original notes, but is not yet complete.