The Martial Arts, what it is, and the higher meaning of it.

General discussion about the Elder Race, Life, the Universe and Everything.
Tulan
Cellarius
Cellarius

The Martial Arts, what it is, and the higher meaning of it.

Post by Tulan » Wed Sep 07, 2005 3:25 am

I was reading over the many posts in the Ranger forum, and came across the mention of the Martial Arts a time or two. I felt it would be prudent to post my own thinking and experience of this subject. Forigive me if it is in the wrong place on the Ranger forum, just figured the general discussion was most appropriate.

I have been a student of the martial arts all my life (since I was about 2 or 3 I beleive). As usual, I had wanted to start the martial arts because I was so enthralled with all the "karate kids" in the movies, and my only beginning fascination with it was how "COOL" it was.

My study of the martial arts up until maybe 5 years ago was mostly with the intent to "be cool, look cool because I could kick your a$$". So with this in mind the path of the Martial Arts is an enlightening one, but the greed of the ego must be overcome through epiphany. My path wound me through Tai Kwon Do, Aikido, Tai Chi, Jiu Jitsu, and finally I rested upon Kenpo (I have studied in both the IKKA and AKKA organizations and still study it).

I can say my epiphany that led me from the response "I can kick your a$$" to "No I don't want to be hurt" during a confrontation (any kind, coming from verbal to outright physical). I will say, "No I don't want to be hurt" is a statement one can only truly understand once the "I can kick your a$$" phase as been walked and understood.

My epiphany was brought on through the years of study and self-discovery my amazing teacher, instructor, and friend provided me. It was also triggered by a specific event, however due to my reluctantness to feed any negative thought experience into this wonderful place, I will withold that story, only for those who ASK to hear it.